Programme

The Society always has a lively and varied programme of interesting talks and visits which are selected to appeal to a wide local audience. 

Talks are in the Cerne Abbas Village Hall and begin at 7:30pm

 
The 2018 Programme of Talks and Visits         

Thursday 25th January

         AGM and Exhibition

 

Thursday 22nd February

         The Wicked Squire of Holnest  Luke Mouland

 

Thursday 22nd March

  An Imaginary Walk through 17th Century Dorchester  Brian Bates

 

Thursday 26th April

  The Romans in West Dorset: What we can still see today  Steve Wallis

 

Thursday 24th May  

  Due to the sad death of Edward Digby this event is cancelled.

  The Life of Pamela Digby/Churchill/Harriman  Henry Digby

  Instead, we will feature an evening to celebrate Edward Lord Digby’s life, including film and memories.

 

Thursday 28nd June

  Catherine Granville’s Diary: Cerne’s Edwardian School ma’am   J. Still

 

Thursday 6th September

  Visit to Portland Museum, the ruined St Andrew’s church & Culverwell Mesolithic site

 

Thursday 27th September

  The History of Nether Cerne  Ed Gallia

 

Thursday 25th October

  A History of Kingston Maurward  Tim Loasby

 

Thursday 22rd November

  The Dorset Regiment on the Western Front 1914-18  Chris Copson

 

Thursday 24th January 2019

  AGM